According to the Constitution of Social Sciences Society, HKUSU, the Council shall be composed of:

(a) The Council Chairman.
(b) The Council Honorary Secretary.
(c) Ten Executive Committee Representatives who are elected Executive Committee Members of the Society, including Chairman, External Vice-chairman, Faculty Affairs Secretary and those who are the Chairman of the Standing Committees in the Council.
(d) Two Academic Society Representatives including the Chairman or Vice-chairman from each affiliated Academic Society.
(e) The Student Members of the Board of Faculty of Social Sciences on provision of a written acceptance as a councillor.
(f) One Council member of the previous session.
(g) Five Popularly Elected Councillors.